Navigation Links

Home Page

Model United Nations

United Kingdom

United States

Volunteering and Internships

United Kingdom

United States

Human Rights Organizations


New York

Washington DC

International Offices of the UN

The USA and the UN

UN Organizations in New York

UN Organizations in Washington

Canada and the UN

UN Organizations in Montreal

The UN and Austria

UN Organizations in Vienna

France and the UN

UN Organizations in Paris

UN in Italy

UN Organizations in Rome

The Netherlands and the UN

The UN and The Hague

Spain and the UN

UN Organizations in Madrid

Switzerland and the UN

UN Organizations in Bern

UN Organizations in Geneva

The UK and the UN

UN Organizations in London

Japan and the UN

UN Organizations in Tokyo

Thailand and the UN

UN Organizations in Bangkok

Egypt and the UN

Lebanon and the UN

UN Organizations in Beirut

Israel and the UN

Ethiopia and the UN

Addis Ababa

Kenya and the UN

UN Organizations in Nairobi

Chile and the UN


Spain and the United Nations

Spain has been an active member of the United Nations since the 14th of December, 1955. The country of Spain participates in virtually every one of the United Nations organizations and systems bodies and is one of the top ten providers of assessed financial contributions, providing 3.177% of the UN budget.

Spain is also one of the twelve members of the Geneva Group and provides additional funds for specialised agencies and programs, which is allocated through the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Cooperation. Spain has been an elected member to the Security Council four times and has participated in numerous peacekeeping missions by providing peacekeeping troops, humanitarian aid and other officials to countries including Afghanistan, Kosovo and Haiti.

Concepcinn Escobar Hernandez has been chosen as a member of the International Law Commission by the General Assembly of the United Nations, and will serve a term from 2012 to 2016. Spain is also as well as a member of the Economic and Social Council along with being the home of the United Nations World Tourism Organization (UNWTO), which was established in 1974.

The Permanent Mission of Spain to the United Kingdom was established to assist the country in achieving its foreign policy goals by representing the Government of Spain. The Permanent Mission is comprised of a number of sections which include The Economic Section, The Political Section, The Social Section, The Coordination Section and the Administrative Section.

In addition to being a member of the United Nations, Spain is also a member of the European Union, the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO), World Trade Organization and the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development.