Navigation Links

Home Page

Model United Nations

United Kingdom

United States

Volunteering and Internships

United Kingdom

United States

Human Rights Organizations


New York

Washington DC

International Offices of the UN

The USA and the UN

UN Organizations in New York

UN Organizations in Washington

Canada and the UN

UN Organizations in Montreal

The UN and Austria

UN Organizations in Vienna

France and the UN

UN Organizations in Paris

UN in Italy

UN Organizations in Rome

The Netherlands and the UN

The UN and The Hague

Spain and the UN

UN Organizations in Madrid

Switzerland and the UN

UN Organizations in Bern

UN Organizations in Geneva

The UK and the UN

UN Organizations in London

Japan and the UN

UN Organizations in Tokyo

Thailand and the UN

UN Organizations in Bangkok

Egypt and the UN

Lebanon and the UN

UN Organizations in Beirut

Israel and the UN

Ethiopia and the UN

Addis Ababa

Kenya and the UN

UN Organizations in Nairobi

Chile and the UN


Chile and the United Nations

Chile has been an active member of the United Nations since the 24th of October, 1945, after signing the UN Charter in San Francisco, along with fifty other founding countries. Chile has been a strong supporter of United Nations peacekeeping operations, currently contributing to peacekeeping task forces by providing troops, UN officers and support services in India and Pakistan, the Middle East, Cyprus, Haiti, Timor and Leste, Bosnia and Herzegovina.

The Permanent Mission of Chile to the United Nations was established to assist the country in achieving its foreign policy goals by representing the Government of Chile to the United Nations.

The fundamental elements of Chilean policy towards the United Nations are:

  • Highlight the commitment to human rights, democracy and gender equality
  • Ratify the work of the UN by maintaining international peace and security
  • Support the United Nations global efforts to promote sustainable development
  • Contribute to efforts to offset climate change
  • Support the United Nations collective action
  • Contribute to the Agenda for Economic and Social Development of the UN
  • The Economic Commission for Latin America (ECLAC) was established in 1948 and is situated in Santiago, Chile. The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) also has a regional office in Chile.

    Along with being a member of the United Nations, Chile is a founding member of the Union of South America and was the first South American nation to become part of the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD).